How to read scent notes

How to read scent notes
The easiest way to understand scents is through the ‘scent note pyramid’ framework which has 3 categories… 
Top notes: 
These are the scents you’ll be able to smell when you first light the candle. Although they don’t last long, they’re memorable and the first to draw you in. 
These tend to be from the citrus ‘family’ (think lemon, bergamot and ginger) 
Middle notes: 
As the scent burns through, you’ll then reach the middle notes (sometimes called ‘heart notes’). This is the heart of the fragrance, so it’s the dominant scent – and it’s where the magic is. 
These are generally from the floral ‘family’ (like rose, lilac and lavender) 
Base notes: 
Base notes come in right after the middle notes, and they really linger, so they’re typically deep, rich scents. 
These are more woody (and include sandalwood, patchouli and cedar) 
All our candle scents are made up of top, middle and base notes layered together, but it’s important to remember that not all scents are created equal. Buying candles online means that unfortunately you can’t smell them through the screen (although that would be really cool), so that’s where the scent note pyramid comes in handy. 
For example, let’s think about what our Lavendula candle smells like, using the scent pyramid: 
As soon as you light the candle, you’ll get fresh, citrus bergamot to start. This will last for about 10 minutes before the lavender heart kicks in. You’ll then be left with a predominantly lavender scent, before the undertones of sage come through – the savoury end balances out the floral scent, making the aroma linger for longer. 
To help you work out what each refill smells like, we include scent note pyramids for each one on our website. 
My top tip: always look at the heart of the fragrance. Some candles have 8-10 scents, but the middle is the predominant scent (and where the magic is!).